About Jostein Eikeland.

Jostein Eikeland is a visionary serial entrepreneur who founded Alevo as an Energy Service Provider (ESP). He serves as Alevo’s Chairman and CEO. He has participated or is involved in multiple business sectors: technology, automotive, energy storage and environmental. In each sector, he concentrates on efficiency, resource optimization and recycling wasted resources.

Jostein’s entrepreneurial career began with TeleComputing – the world’s first Application Service Provider and forerunner of today’s cloud service providers. He is known by some as the “Cloudfather” because he coined the phrase Application Service Provider, or ASP, which became software as a service (SAAS), and has now become, simply, the “Cloud”.

Jostein established TeleComputing in 1997 and grew the company with operations in Europe and the US before listing the business on the Oslo Stock Exchange in 1999. TeleComputing bundled software products that could be used simultaneously by multiple users and was the first to fractionate and rent software licenses, a practice that has now become mainstream.

Subsequent business investments includes a magnesium automotive components portfolio consisting of Meridian Technologies and TMG.

His current company, Alevo Group SA, headquartered in Switzerland, brings utility scale battery energy storage to the electric grid to increase its reliability and efficiencies. Alevo Analytics, Alevo’s software arm, evaluates grid areas to determine where to place storage and what services to deploy to create the greatest cost savings.

Eikeland believes that there are technological solutions to the world’s environmental concerns, that recycling waste materials and pollutants is a new form of sustainability. His focus is now energy conservation and reversing climate change and accomplishing it in our time.

Through his family foundation he is supporting The Non-Violence Project, The Buck Institute, Cause Direct and The WorldWatch Institute.

Jostein is a Belfer Center International Council Member at Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government.